Settling in…

We’re finally starting to feel as if DC is home.  Admittedly it’s still a shock when we drive down the street and see the Pentagon or any of the many postcard-familiar monuments we now see every time we go out.  But our place officially feels like home (instead of someone else’s home that happens to have all of our stuff).

David’s working like crazy.  The move brought about a back-log of work that he’s try to catch up with.  I, of course, am seeking work.  After looking at my options, I’ve decided to do something that ten years ago I would have told you I’d never do.  I’m sewing for a living.

As a kid, people would ask why I wasn’t considering fashion school and didn’t I want to be the next fashion star? (Project Runway wasn’t underway until I was in college, or I’m sure it would have come up.) I’d tell people who asked that I was afraid sewing for a living would make me lose the joy in it.  Time will tell whether there was truth in that, but I’m hopeful that sewing is the right choice for several reasons:

  1. So far when I do something else “for a living” I haven’t become passionate about what I’ve engaged in; I know I’m passionate about sewing.
  2. Doing something else leaves me without any time to sew, so there’s no sewing to be taking joy in.
  3. It’s something I can take pride in.  I’m an excellent seamstress, all bragging aside, and I particularly take care with the details and the finishing work.  When I make something for someone I know it’s excellent work and that they’re getting everything they’re paying for.

I’m getting started with a boutique that has shown interest in my work and is giving me a trial to see if it works out. I’ve heard from a couple of bridal shops that may be interested in contracting me as well.

This is the sample piece that they’ve asked me to do as a first piece.  The collar will have a closure, but it will be added by the boutique owner.

Since I was sewing anyway, once finished the blue dress above, I decided to try a project suggested on a blog I follow, The Crafty CPA.  I think it turned out really well:

Ginger has been settling in well, too.  She likes that David and I are both working at the house, and has settled into a regular routine that involves breakfast the moment I get up, then a nap, and once it gets dark, going out onto the porch for a bit.  Lately she’s found some very odd napping places:

5 thoughts on “Settling in…

  1. Nicely written! I always enjoy reading your adventures but this blog hit home for me because I am (at age 50+) finally braving the waters of self-employment. It’s sort of like I am tip toeing in because I only reduced my (working for the man) job hours to half time. It’s so true that finding a way to mix your talents and joys AND get a pay check for it is a wonderful thing. Hey, before you know it you might be fitting a dress on the first lady! Best Wishes! Clip those curves, trim those seams, cut on the bias and love every minute of it!

    • Congratulations on the brave adventures! I hope your self-employment endeavors go well, and I appreciate the good wishes for mine. I am also looking into a part time “normal” job as well, to bring in some steady income while I get this rolling. It will depend on what kind of response I get in the next week or two.

  2. The fluff: Cool new blog banner photo (I know, been a while since I’ve been here) and the weird kitty-sleeping photos are priceless.

    The seriousness: Congrats to you and David on a safe move, a quick unpacking period, and a busy work-life. Best of luck with the boutiques… that would be too cool.

  3. Hi Kate – I’ve been checking your blog and haven’t seen any updates – due to the move of course! Glad you’re getting settled and enjoying life. Ever since “Cinderella” in HS I knew you had some sewing ahead of you! Stay in touch –

    Elizabeth’s mom
    🙂

Leave a Reply

