Guest Post: The Summer I Moved Away

This entry is a guest post by Kristen, over at Kristen’s Blog of Shenanigans. Kristen and I participated in a blog swap, hosted by 20 Something Bloggers, and the subject of the swap is summer.  So take a moment to read Kristen’s post here, and then share a comment about your favorite summer memory!  And don’t forget to head on over to Kristen’s blog to read the post I wrote.

As summer comes to a haltering end, I can’t help but be completely ecstatic. You see, I’ve always been an autumn kind of girl.  And I can’t stop thinking about last summer. Why, you ask?

I mean, this one wasn’t so eventful. In fact, it was kind of crap. It was sort of a “back to reality” kind of summer, due to the fog I have been living in for the past year. It was last summer that was memorable. That was the summer that changed my life.

Last summer I moved four hours away from my home in Albany, New York to be with my longtime boyfriend Brian Patrick Delaney in Rochester, New York. Not only did I make a semi-big move away from my family for the first time, but I decided to pursue a college education for the first time in six years as well. I was excited and scared all at the same time, and for anyone that knows what those two emotions are like to intake at the same time: it’s pretty much a heart attack.

Everyone made me feel really good about the move. In fact, my parents threw me a surprise going away party a day before I moved, with all of my relatives there. I never thought that I’d cry like a big baby in front of an audience, but it happened. It was one of the nicest things anyone has ever done for me.

My parents drove with me to Rochester N.Y., which would be my new location. Brian and I followed them as I got a nice view of my dresser and bed for four long straight hours. When we got there, our parents and us all had dinner.

Things have only gotten better since I’ve been here for a whole year. We finally got our own apartment (for six months), and I’ve been doing great in school with a 4.0 average. My boyfriend isn’t doing too shabby either. We certainly do make a great team and moving to Rochester is definitely one of the best decisions that I ever made. It makes me more grateful when I go back home, and sleep in my old empty room. But I have a new room now.  🙂

One thought on “Guest Post: The Summer I Moved Away

  1. Pingback: Blog Swap #9 Recap

Leave a Reply

